An Open Letter to Republican Women #akin #rapeisrape

I know only about five of you will probably read this. I know you’re expecting that I will write to you with disrespect for your values or your religion or your beliefs about how governments should run.

I’m going to do my utmost not to do that to you.

I’m writing to you as a woman. Woman to woman. That’s all. Okay? You have female reproductive organs and so do I. You can get pregnant, so can I. You can get raped, so can I. No man can know exactly what it is like to live with those realities. We have some common ground here, ladies.

Women, whether republican or democrat, need to be the ones who decide what happens with their bodies. I understand that you may feel that tax payers should not have to pay for birth control, I understand that you may feel, very strongly, that abortion is murder. You may feel that it is a sin against God.

I don’t agree with you, but I understand and respect your point of view.

What I would like you to consider is that, regardless of how you feel on these issues, it is not men who should be deciding them. They don’t ever physically have to live with the outcomes of those decisions. We do.

I would also like you to consider that we are humans with free will. And that is a pivotal and fundamental aspect of religious devotion and secular humanism. We can agree that, if we have free will, we should take personal responsibility for our actions and the sins we might commit.

Can we agree on these things?

Birth control and abortion may offend you greatly. I don’t think there is anyone, on any side of the political divide, who believes that abortion is a good thing. But I think it is the individual who should be responsible for making the decision. Not a government, and certainly not a government run, primarily, by men.

Whether republican or democrat, the vast majority of women are intelligent, thinking beings. They are capable of deciding what to do with their bodies. You are capable of making good decisions for yourself. So am I.

And if one day, you or I were to be raped, forcibly or by bullying or coercion, and we were to become pregnant, I would want you to be the person who made the decision as to what to do about it.  Not your father, your husband, your pastor, or a bunch of politicians who don’t know you and don’t live your life or inhabit your body. And I hope you would accord me the same freedom.

And, if you’re tremendously pro-life, and you feel that having an abortion is murder, and that, if I chose to abort that baby my soul will be condemned to an eternity in hell, then that’s fine. You have a right to feel that way. And you can rest assured that God will punish me accordingly. I just want you to allow me to make that decision myself.

That’s all.

I’m not asking you to vote democrat. I’m not asking you not to vote. I’m asking you, as women, to inform the republican debate on this issue with your voices.  Because I think there are many republican women who are staying very quiet on this issue. And I don’t think that’s right.

 

